Whitby Yorkshire, the gem of the Yorkshire Coast
Whitby is a town divided in two by the River Esk. It is location has shaped each its commerical and historical past.
The East Side of Whitby Yorkshire is the oldest of the two sides. The Abbey constructed from 656 AD, was the founding point for the town, and on the headland near the Abbey there are signs of an earlier Roman lighthouse and modest settlement.
Indeed, the early Saxon name for Whitby was ‘Streonshal’ meaning Lighthouse Bay. Leading down the 199 steps, from the Abbey to Church Street (formerly Kirkgate AD 1318), there are cobbled streets and numerous cottages and houses dating from the 1600′s.
Dwellings have even been recorded at the foot of the 199 steps as early as 1370! The Market place Location, dating back to 1640, is a lively spot with markets held on a Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday, and with a Farmer’s marketplace on a Thursday (please check days as there is a variation throughout the year).
The old cobbled streets stretch from the bottom of the Abbey Steps along Church Street, along Sandgate and to the north along Henrietta Street.
In 1787 Henrietta Street, had more than 1000 residents, nowadays it is only a brief street in relation to it’s former glory. A landslip in 1787, and a succession of further landslips have led to its present length. At the northern finish of the street is Fortunes Kipper House, dating from 1872, founded by William Fortune. Fortunes Kippers have their own distinctive taste and flavour, which results from being smoked over Oak and Beech fires.
Many of the cottages on Hentrietta Street are now holiday lets, but a number of neighborhood Whitby people are still resident. A path from the finish of Hentrietta Street leads to the East Pier, by indicates of a new concrete walkway. There are a range of shops and cafes about the Market place Location.
There are public conveniences here too. Next to the Shambles is the access to the Whitby Friendship Amateur Rowing Club. The Fishermans Amateur Rowing Club can be accessed here also at low tide.
Sandgate, a narrow bustling street, leads off from the Market Location. This street gets it’s name from the truth that it leads to and borders the east sands. Here visitors can discover a assortment of tourist shops which includes, a fresh seafood shop, an Old English Sweet Shop, a photographers and a bakery.
Whitby Jet, created fashionable by Queen Victoria, who wore it in mourning of her beloved Prince Albert (died 1861) has been carved considering that the Bronze age. It is believed that Whitby Jet is formed by fossilized Monkey Puzzle trees. An exhibition of the Victorian carved jet is displayed in the museum in Pannett Park.
An old jet workshop, was located sealed in a house in Whitby. This was removed and rehoused in the Whitby Jet Heritage centre. Church Street has an remarkable number of alleyways and yards which, in times gone by, enabled smuggling gangs an escape route from the customs men and press gangs. Appear at the strange names!! These days these yards home a number of shops, restaurants and craftware places. The old Wesley Hall is now home to a wool and craft shop.
The East side of Whitby is hugely well-known with tourists, and hence the large amount of cafes, restaurants, pubs and gift shops. Leading off Bridge Street, is 1 of the oldest streets in Whitby, named Grape Lane. Grape Lane existed even just before the dissolution of the Abbey, and in 1595 there were houses on both sides of this narrow street.
Along Grape Lane is the Captain Cook museum, cafes, jewellery shops, bookshops, antiques and a children’s clothing shop. Whitby West Cliff best, is home to many of the towns Hotels, guest houses, holiday accommodation and tourist attractions. Bram Stoker stayed at a guest residence in Royal Crescent, in the late 1890′s, and drew his inspiration for Dracula from Whitby and the Abbey.
In the book, Dracula came ashore in the form of a dog, soon after a shipwreck off the coast of Whitby. In current years, Whitby Gothic Weekends have turn out to be far more and a lot more well-liked, with Goths travelling to Whitby for a few days in April and November. They dress in historic costume as they wander the town and it seems practically that Whitby is back in the ‘olden days’.
At the leading of the Khyber Pass, is the Royal Hotel, which has splendidviews more than the North Sea, the piers and the Abbey. Opposite the Royal, is the famous Whale Bone Arch, which was originally erected in 1853, as at that time Whitby was an crucial Whaling town. The present bones are from Alaska, and replaced the former in 2003. To the left of the Whale Bone Arch is the bronze statue of Captain James Cook standing over 6 feet.
There is an outdoor paddling pool with public toilets close by, a new skateboarding area, Whitby Wizard (a hands-on science centre for kids), bumper boats, trampolines, pitch and putt and crazy golf. The huge west cliff automobile park, is near the Whitby Leisure Centre. The centre has a swimming pool, tennis courts, a gymnasium and badminton court.
Whitby Spa Pavillion is a well-known venue for visitors to the town. It holds a selection of events which includes dances, pantomimes and seaside variety shows. It also has a cafe, licensed bar and it is own automobile park. The Spa Pavillion also hosts unique summer events for kids. These incorporate magic shows and mini discos. In the course of the early summer months of Could and June, the sun sets it appears to set in the sea, a most spectacular site.
In reality it sets behind the land near Sunderland/Newcastle. Winding steep paths, take you down to the pretty sandy beach, with its brightly coloured painted beach huts. There are two beaches in Whitby, one each side of the River Esk. Tate Hill Beach is a tiny sheltered, soft sandy beach that each visitors and residents can appreciate all through the year be it either picnics, barbecues, or bathing and beach activities. Dogs are permitted on this beach all year round.
The larger West Cliff beach has about two miles of sand and stretches from the pier, past the colourful beachhuts and along to Upgang. In the summer months, there are lifeguards in attendance. Deckchairs and windbreaks are offered to employ from the slipway close to the west pier. Usually a favourite with the kids are the donkey rides Dogs are restricted from the 1st Could to the 30th September. When utilizing the beaches it is wise to take notice of the tide tables specifically when walking along to Sandsend as the tides reach the cliffs and there is a danger of getting cut off.
The beach is also be accessed from the West cliff down long zigzag paths, or, in the season, there is a cliff lift, very first opened in 1931, which is available from the finish of April to the end of September.